I’m just going to start with this morning (Monday, February 20) and then go backwards from there.

6:15am – Get up to see that the plow hasn’t been to our house yet. Awesome.

6:20am – Toss the soaking wet clothes from the washer to the dryer (I hate when I forget to do that at night)

6:25am – Head outside with Cooper to see if the snow is shovelable (I like making up words)

6:35am – Fall at the end of the driveway. Directly onto my chest, because I am just that talented. I decide that I’m going to leave the shoveling to Jason.

6:40am – Jason comes out and decides we’re busting out the snow blower. Sleeping neighbors be damned. Even though it is a holiday for some of them. I’m sure we were super popular.

7:00am – Survey the cul-de-sac and street. Decide that the Ford will definitely make it out with the AWD. The Mazda, not so much, hence the nickname “Go Cart”

7:10am – back inside, make coffee, tuck Carter into our bed to watch cartoons while I do laundry and shower.

7:15am – Email work, call daycare and tell them we’re stuck and may or may not be in today.

7:30am- Take care of a few work related items while Carter rips pages out of his Clifford book. OOPS! Pop Carter into his high chair so I can safely make breakfast.

8:00am – Breakfast ends with the dog spewing all over the carpet because the hardwood floors that are 2 paw steps to his right would be FAR too easy for me to clean up.

8:02am – Carter yells “UH OH” which has become the precursor to him throwing things or getting into stuff he knows he can’t have. This time it’s the carpet cleaner that I’m trying to scrub up.

8:30am – Toss Carter on the couch to watch “education television” while I finish cleaning up.

8:45am – Realize that all our sheets need to be washed due to a “Cinnamon Toast Crunch Incident” that I failed to notice after my shower. Somehow I don’t think Jason would appreciate sleeping in the cinnamon and sugar/milk combination that is now on his side of the bed.

9:00am – Toss all the laundry in, pour a cup of coffee that I made 2 hours ago. Blech.

9:15am – Put Carter back in our sheetless bed so I can check work email and download pictures from this weekend.

9:30am – Contemplate going back to bed already. Seriously.

So that’s my morning so far…here’s a recap from Suzapalooza aka my mom’s 50th birthday weekend in Chicago! Shopping, Wine, Shopping, Mani/Pedis, Shopping, Museum of Science and Industry, Lawry’s Prime Rib, Pizzeria Uno, Ed Debevics, Shopping, Wine, Sleep. The End. Now for the pictures.

Fueling Up

Gun Show

My mom and I were scheduled to fly home on Sunday at 9:10am. On Saturday, Delta called us at 2:00pm to tell us our Sunday flight had been canceled and we were rebooked on a flight in 3 hours. For anyone that has ever been to Chicago or O’Hare airport, 3 hours wouldn’t have been enough time even if I had gotten the message right away. When I finally checked my voicemail at 4:30pm, I called Delta who put us on at 6:30am flight Sunday morning. THANK GOD for that! We were literally on the only ORD to MSP flight that left O’Hare that day! Everything else was canceled. We made it back to MSP at 8:00am and by 10:15am, I was snuggled in on the couch at home with my boys, waiting for the snow to start! I am so thankful that we made it out of Chicago when we did and that I made it home safely before the snow started in Wisconsin.

With another 12 inches of snow, came alot of shoveling and snow blowing. Of course, Carter couldn’t be left out of the festivities! Nana & Papa bought him a shovel when he stayed with them last weekend and he is OBSESSED with it! Whether there is snow to shovel or not, he wants to play with it. So, we put him to work yesterday!

 

That’s all for now…I just went to check on Carter and found this:

Happy Snowy Monday!